I’m not a notion junkie.  I kind of surprised myself when I bought both of the twister rulers when my LQS had them on sale earlier this year.  But I knew I wanted to make another twister quilt and remembered what a pain it was to use the freezer paper template. And iron it on, and cut it out, and do it again, and again, and again.

I LOVE this ruler!  I was surprised to pull the rulers out of their packages and see that they had grippers on the bottom of them.  Those four little feet rock my world!  You have to cut all the way around the ruler without moving it.  You have to cut apart your quilt top.  Rotating that much yardage is hard.  Cutting around all four sides of something is hard.  But with these little feet, when I let go of the ruler so that I can move to make the last two cuts, it stays put!

I do have to admit that I have misplaced my directions for the large Twister ruler.  (I’m sure I’ll find them someday!)  So I went back to my Square Dance book, looking for advice on how wide to cut the outer borders.  Following the design guidelines for the Square Dance pattern, my outer border is probably 1/4″ narrower than it needs to be – I’m losing the outside corner every time I cut a block.  It’s OK, though, I’ll just trim the whole outside of the quilt down by a bit after I’ve sewn all the blocks together.

I’m lovin’ it up on my design wall – where it needs to stay until I sew it together.  It is a two colored twister, but each of those whites is a different white-on-white print and I would not want to have to match up every white pinwheel again if they got jumbled.

Thanks for stopping by!

 

