I made a Square Dance quilt a long time ago, using brightly colored 6″ squares and a fun print border.  I’ve posted about it before – because while Twister quilts are popular, there aren’t many Square Dance books still around.

I got the Twister rulers, in both sizes, a month or so ago when they were on sale at my LQS.  I knew I was going to make another of these quilts some day.

Well, some day is now.  I was casting about in my quilt room for my next project.  Usually I’ve planned one or two ahead, but right now the decks are clear – charity cobblestones is done and gone, my Quiltlet is finished, and I’m not ready to quilt my kaliedoscope quilt yet.  Kickin’ Stash is in progress, but that’s a Featherweight project.

My eyes landed on a patchwork-y print without a plan, and I decided right then that this was going to be a Twister quilt.  At first I thought I’d mix it up with green, then I decided on white, with a black border.  Keeping it simple.  Wouldn’t you know it, I had just enough of the print to make 20 10″ squares, and I only needed 18 squares.   Sweet!  Then I went and picked out some random white-on-white prints from my stash to set with the print.  This is good – because a 5×7 set of 10″ blocks, with a 5″ plain black border all around, cut with the big twister ruler, should give me a quilt that’s 45×60 – a good size for just about anything.

The blocks are all set together after a night and an afternoon of cutting and sewing.  Tonight I’ll add the black border, then I’ll be ready for cutting!

Thanks for stopping by!

