It took me a while to sew my 224 quarter blocks into 112 half blocks, into 56 full blocks, and then into 1 quilt top.  And a whole lotta thread!

That’s a whole another post, isn’t it?  Thread?

So, back to my top.  My Pop Top.  Only of fabric, not of soda, or another adult beverage.  Ready for it?

I usually don’t work in this softer palatte.  I also worked completely out of my stash.  There are some vintage prints, some ugly prints, and some newer fabrics as well.  One fabric has a copyright from the 1980s on the selvedge!

It was hard, and I’m not completely happy with it.  I’m thinking at this point that maybe it needs a border.  A medium blue border…  I’ll stare at it for a few days and decide.

Right now I’m up to my ears in strings, triangles, and wedges.  All fabric related, of course!  No bikini parts or shoes involved…  And I think I need to go back to elementary school.  My string quilt will be set 6 blocks square.  So, 36 blocks.  Each block will have 2 wedges and 4 string triangles in it.  That means 72 wedges, and 114 string triangles.  It’s a more unusual setting…the stars end up offset from each other instead of lined up in rows.

So…can anyone explain why I ended up 29 string triangles short?  I was counting as I went, marking down each set and tallying up until I got to 114.  115, actually, is what I thought I had.

That’s what I’m doing right now.  Making 29 string triangles out of the bits and pieces I had left.  How on earth could I have missed making about 25% of what I needed?  Maybe I need to check my car?  Or call the quilt store?  I did take the whole kit and caboodle out shopping for wedge fabric last week after I realized I didn’t have enough of my original wedge fabric.  However, I think I would have noticed myself leaving a trail of block parts as I shopped.  See the pile?  That’s a whole lotta blocks that aren’t done!

Happy quilting!  Deb

