Don’t forget to vote in AccuQuilt’s Barn Quilt Contest!  Voting closes on April 19!  THIS is my quilt.  Or click here for all of the top 100.

 

Many moons ago, at a one-day retreat, there was a mystery quilt.  The quilters cut, and sewed, and drew, and cut, and sewed.  It was the best mystery quilt ever.  (Usually they can figure it out…sew the block units in whatever order you want, but there are only so many blocks that use hourglass units, right?)

At the end there was a great reveal.  Everyone was in awe!  It was this great interlocking pinwheel quilt.  Those who had done it were in love.  Those who hadn’t done it were jealous.  “Where did you ever get this idea?” we asked.  (I was in the jealous camp.)  From a book – Square Dance by Martha Thompson.  This was quite a while ago… (For the record…everything was done with the author’s consent.)

How do I know it was quite a while ago?  Because I made my own Square Dance quilt.  The book – in it’s first edition – was out of print, so I haunted ebay and was able to come up with a copy after a while.  Then the project had to gel.  Then I started it!  It is a bit fiddly.  You lay out your squares, sew them together, mark them with a template, cut them apart (with scissors, no less!), and sew them back together again.

When was this?  2002.  This was the baby quilt that we said would make the baby hyper!  Said baby is now 8 3/4!

Diggin’ the fabric?  It’s all out of print.  (Though I keep getting flashbacks…the border fabric is used in one of the cover shots on McCall’s 5554 pattern for 18″ dolls…as knickers…)

The book you can put your hands on – it’s been re-issued with more current fabrics.  My first edition has some quilts where you have to…look beyond the fabric, I guess…to see the charm of the design.

Imagine my surprise when Twister quilts started showing up everywhere online?  “That’s Square Dance!” I said.  While I had to collect my squares one at a time, the pattern is great for charm packs.  And my template?  Freezer paper with pencil lines on it.  I would have killed for an acrylic template!

Deb

