I saw a picture of this design in a quilting catalog – Connecting Threads, I believe.  12 Birds in the Air blocks surrounding a medallion center.  Their design was a bit more traditional – dark birds on a lighter background.  Mine, not so much!  I love a good black and red quilt.

Now, I’m not one for big prints, but I happened to have this red fabric with black and not-quite-white flowers in it.  And I had exactly enough to make the quilt as shown in the magazine, if I sized it how I wanted it.  I pulled two black prints from the same line of fabrics (so they also had not-quite-white print).  Then I added four more black prints from my stash (that’s why we have it, right?) and I was good to go. 

Not the best picture, sorry!

I think this one is better.

The quilt finished to 48″ x 48″, nice and square.  I backed it in one of the coordinates, and quilting was inspired by the design – crosshatching in the center, curvy triangles in the black triangles, and a casual flower (inspired by the red print) in the big red triangles.

This quilt is for sale in my etsy shop.

