We all get told to change our needles, right?  And we do, though if you’re like me it’s never as often as recommended.

What about pins?  Don’t they deserve changing out as well?

Today I’m sewing along, putting together rows, and I’m struggling to find enough pins to pin the rows together.  I was pinning happily along and then I started to run short.  I’m pulling out pins that are dull as a butter knife, and don’t want to pierce through nested seams.  I’m pulling out pins that are bent at crazy angles.   (You don’t want to know my threshold for throwing away bent pins.  It’s embarassingly high; I seem to keep everything that’s not bent in half.)

I decided it’s time to let them go.  It’s time for a changing of the guard.  When I find a pin that’s not in its prime I’m letting it go.  This means, of course, that I’ll have to root around in my sewing box until I find the box of pins, but I think it will be refreshing to not have to deal with dull and bent pins.

