A quiltlet is a baby quilt.  Tiny.  Small.  Some might even call it a potholder.

What is it’s purpose?  To join together with other quiltlets to make a bigger quilt.  One of my guilds has a quiltlet quilt.  All members have been asked to make a quiltlet – an 8.5″ block, bound, with apron strings for tying it to other member’s quiltlets.

Seems simple, right?  To make an 8″ block that represents you.  It could be anything – a traditional block, an invented block, applique, representational, abstract, and any color under the rainbow.  As long as it finishes to 8.5″ square, and has strings, anything goes.

Only it’s not so simple.  I thought of so many great ideas.  Only to find that they were 9″ blocks.  Or 14″.  I wanted a star, but not a sawtooth star, and bright colors.  In order to make sure that I had mine in before next month’s quilt show, I invited some friends over to my house for a quiltlet sewing day.  I had two weeks to figure this out, and figured it out at 9pm the night before.

I made it of 2″ finished equilateral triangles.  Bright greens with a blue star floating in the center.  I love it!  I was sad to have to give it up at the meeting, so I made another one, which is right now just a block.

I figured something out that I never knew.  I cut this using specialty rulers.  I knew I had an equilateral triangle ruler because it’s purple.  But I recently won a stash giveaway and in there was a trirecs ruler.  At first glance they’re the same ruler.  A trirecs ruler is designed to make ‘peaky and spike’ or ‘triangle in a square’ blocks.  Fortunately, I only cut about 6 pieces before I realized what I was doing.

If you’re in the area, look for my block on the quiltlet banner in April!

Thanks for stopping by -

