You have to know someone with an American Girl.  Or an Our Generation, or a Madame Alexander, or a Battat doll.  Those 18″ dolls that so many girls – or sometimes their mothers – have.  My daughter wanted to have an AG-themed birthday party, with AG-type crafts.

I came up with a no-sew sleeping bag.  I googled and googled and couldn’t come up with anything online.  So I made it myself.  My daughter and I talked about it, and decided that we wanted a sleeping bag with someplace to lay your head, so the bottom of our design is long enough that her doll’s head lays on the fleece.

For TWO sleeping bags you need 27″ (3/4 yard) of 58/60″ wide fleece.

Total time to make?  About 10 minutes for me to cut one sleeping bag and about 10 minutes for her to tie it.  (Though we had girls at the party that took much longer.)

Step 1:  Cut 2 pieces, 24″ x 30″, from the fleece.  These are for your two sleeping bags.  Set one aside.

Step 2:  Fold the fabric in half so that it is 24″ x 15″.  With the fold away from you, cut a 4″ square out of both layers in the lower left corner.

Step 3: Unfold the fabric with the two cut out squares away from you (see them in the top of the picture?).  Cut a 4″ x 5″ piece from the lower left corner and a 15″ x 5″ piece from the lower right corner. 

Step 4:  Cut the fringe.  You want to cut fringe that is about 1″ wide and 4″ deep.  I laid my ruler down and eyeballed it.  Cut along the side and the bottom.

Step 5:  Enlist the girl who will be using the sleeping bag, and have her tie double knots from the fringe.  Make sure she starts with the first pair, and not the 1st on the top and the 2nd on the bottom, because if that happens someone has to pick out all the knots and start over.

Below is the finished product!  Since I had a variety of girls coming and fleece was on sale I got 3/4 yard of several patterns to allow for the girls to choose.  This one was chosen by the birthday girl.

